Resolutions and banana bread

Yes, I made some New Years resolutions. I know, they’re ment to broken, but these I want to take serious. Actually they aren’t very surprising: Eat more healthy and light and exercise more start exercising (We want to be honest…). After all the meaty and rich holiday dishes it is obviously not only me who feels this desire for fresh, light dishes: I collected a few favourite fruity dishes that I would like to try on my Pinterest board “sweet, sour, fresh”.

But then, school has started again, and to physically stand a morning of teaching I came to appreciate my banana bread. Apart from the big pack of mixed nuts and dried fruits I always have in my desk, it is my savior – especially when I suffer from low sugar and have recognised this too late.

So, this banana bread is a compromise to satisfy all needs: still enough energy, but reduced fat and sugar – and still great intense banana flavour, completed by hint of orange, coming from the dried and grated orange zest granulate I lately made. Of course you could substitute it by freshly grated orange zest.

ingredients

2 bananas, 2 eggs,  150g buttermilk, 160g wholegrain flour, 60 g bread flour (type 550), 50g whole cane sugar, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon dried and grated orange zest

preparation

Preheat oven to 180° C.  Line loaf pan with parchement. In a medium bowl, whisk together sugar and eggs.  Whisk in buttermilk and roughly mashed bananas. In another bowl, mix together flours, salt, baking soda, and orange granulate. Fold wet and dry ingredients together until you have a homogenous batter. Spread batter in loaf pan and bake for 1 hour. Remove from oven and allow to cool in the pan for 15 minutes before completely cool on a wire rack. The bread keeps moist for at least 4 days. Perfext to bake on sunday and eat on monday, tuesday, wednesday, thursday and friday.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Green tea with ginger and lime + tea bag labels « nadel&gabel

Leave a Reply

