A secret green juice – Wiesensaft

Wiesensaft

As I promised – which is already two weeks ago now – I wanted to introduce you to the secrets of “Wiesensaft” (meadow juice).

Yes, you heard right. I was sceptic, too, when I saw the green liquid in the bottle that stood on the breakfast buffet at the Miramonte hotel. But curiosity won and I filled a small sip into my glas … and I came back to the buffet, and once again. I loved the fresh aromatic taste that indeed reminds you of passing a meadow that is freshly cut. But, did they really mix grass from the meadows into juice?!

Although I liked it, I couldn’t identify the ingredients, too extraordinary was the taste. So I asked. And happily I was given the solution to my guessing: elderflower and parsley!

Back at home the first thing I bought was a bunch of parsley. I had still a last bottle of homemade elderflower syrup in stock. And I guess I came very close to the original. Of course, if you have some kind of juicer this will be much easier for you. But you can produce a delicious grassy Wiesensaft as well with a handheld blender and a mesh strainer.

The next thing probably will be to experiment with Wiesensaft in drinks. Any recommendations?

Not to forget: Thanks to him, my male hand model 😉

parsley elderflower juice

Wiesensaft – Elderflower parsley juice (2 l)

ingredients
½ bunch parsley, approx. 150 ml elderflower syrup, (sparkling) water

preparation
Wash parsley. Add parsley (with stems) with about ¼ l of water to a tall mixing cup and mix with a handheld blender. Cover and let sit for at least 30 minutes for the flavours to infuse.
Prepare a large bottle or jar that fits 2 litres (or several smaller ones). Pour parsley water through a fine mesh strainer into the bottle, squeeze the pulp. Fill up with water and add elderflower syrup to your liking. Keep in the fridge for up to 3 days. Stir before serving.

4 comments

  1. Ich habe auch noch genau eine Flasche Holunderblütensirup im Schrank, ich kann den Wiesensaft also auf jeden Fall probieren, der klingt doch einfach zu gut!
    Liebe Grüße!
    Julia

  2. Liebe Julia,
    das hört sich total spannend an. Der Holunder vor unserem Balkon trägt schon kräftig Blüten und man kann die Fülle schon erahnen. Sobald wir neuen Sirup kochen können, wird auf jeden Fall der Wiesensaft ausprobiert. Und so ein quietschgrüner Drink wäre ja auch was. Ein extra trockener Sekt, Gin oder Rum? Da sollte man einmal ausgiebig testen…
    Viele Grüße aus Ye Olde Kitchen, Eva und Philipp

Leave a Reply

