My ‘Summer of Basics’

striped lark tees

During the last summer weeks – although (or because?) they were packed with a lot of work – I found some time in between for some sewing and lately as well knitting.

The “Summer of Basics” proclaimed by Karen from Fringe Supply Co. together with (among others) Jen from Grainline Studio – two of my favourite resources and sources of inspiration – gave me the last push to sew not only small pouches, bags etc. but also again some clothes for me and my increasingly handmade wardrobe.

lark tee striped

There had to be at least one classic T-shirt, striped. A striped tee never fails and can be combined in multiple ways. The Lark Tee pattern (Grainline Studio) I had bought a while ago was ideal. In the end I sewed two of them, one with short sleeves and a boat neck, one with 3/4 sleeves and a crew neck. The pattern comes with two more variations of sleeves and necklines… at lot to experiment.

woven hemlock tee

Also a (free) Grainline Studio pattern is the Hemlock Tee. A boxy top was on my list for a while, different patterns bookmarked … then I came across some Hemlock tees from woven fabric (and not knitted like intended). So I gave it a try, chose a size larger, shortened sleeves, added some bust darts … and I’m happy with the outcome. The colourful Kokka Echino fabric makes it a real eyecatcher – for more extrovert days 😉

linen culottes and knitted top

The last top I made was a knitted one. First, I had bought the yarn. I had admired the beautiful Växbo Lin linen products for a while, at least since we’ve been to Sweden three years ago. When I discovered that they are selling now as well linen yarn, I was hooked. I had a vague picture of an airy summer top in mind. I only had to find a suiting pattern.

Carrie’s Lena Tee turned out to be the one. Although in the end I would say there could be some more positive ease 😉 I still like the top. The linen yarn is not the easiest to knit. It’s quite stiff and feels more like twine. I wasn’t that sure at the beginning if this would end in a wearable garnment or if I would have to unravel everything and knit some dish scrubs instead. But it is true: The yarn becomes softer with each wearing and washing, already when holding it in your hand during knitting.

linen lena tee

The trousers were a quick sewing project with some stashed linen fabric. The pattern was again – like here – from Shufu To Seikatsu Sha’s “Simple modern sewing” (deutsch: “Nähen im japanischen Stil”). The two versions I sewed last year are still my absolute spring and summer favourites! They’re on heavy rotation, usually don’t even find their way from the clothes rack into the closet. It was time to sew another one! The length basically was determined by the length of my fabric remains, which is about 3/4. This time I sewed the version with patched back pockets.

The end? Surely not! There are still some tempting patterns on the list…

summer of basics - handmade wardrobe

linked with RUMS

Leave a Reply

